CBCP elects chairmen of Episcopal Commissions

( A repost from CBCPNews)
MANILA, July 14, 2009—The Catholic Bishops Conference of the Philippines (CBCP) has elected the new chairman of its Episcopal Commissions Sunday during their 99th Plenary Assembly.

Out of the thirty-one Episcopal Commissions heads, eight were replaced while the others were re-elected.

The Episcopal Commissions, Committees and Offices are the executive arm of the Bishops’ Conference that attends particular concerns of the Church such as, Catechesis and Education, Vocations, Social Action, Family and Life among others.

San Fernando Auxiliary Bishop Pablo Virgilio David, succeeded Sorsogon Bishop Arturo Bastes as chair of the Episcopal Commission on Biblical Apostolate; and chairman Surigao Bishop Antonieto Cabajog succeeded Tagbilaran Bishop Leonardo Medroso as chair of the Episcopal Commission on Canon Law.

The new chairman of the Episcopal Commission on Clergy is Iba Bishop Florentino Lavarias while Manila Archbishop Gaudecio Cardinal Rosales is the new Chair of the Episcopal Commission on the Pontifico Collegio Filippino.

Boac Bishop Reynaldo Evangelista is the new head of the Episcopal Commission on Vocations. Kabankalan Bishop Patricio Buzon is the incoming chairman of the Episcopal Commission on Health Care while Parañaque Bishop Jesse Mercado on the Episcopal Commission on Laity. Davao Auxiliary Bishop George Rimando is the new head of the Office on Basic Ecclesial Communities.

All the other Commission heads were re-elected:

Bishop Jose Oliveros, Episcopal Office of Bioethics; Ricardo Cardinal Vidal, Episcopal Commission on Bishops’ Concern; Bishop Socrates Villegas, Episcopal Commission on Catechesis and Catholic Education; Bishop Julito Cortes, Episcopal Commission on the Cultural Heritage of the Church; Bishop Emmanuel Cabajar, Episcopal Commission on Culture; Bishop Luis Antonio Tagle, Episcopal Commission on Doctrine of the Faith.

Bishop Antonio Tobias, Episcopal Commission on Ecumenical Affairs; Archbishop Paciano Aniceto, Episcopal Commission on Family and Life; Bishop Sergio Utleg, Episcopal Commission on Indigenous Peoples; Bishop Sofronio Bancud, Permanent Committee on International Eucharistic Congresses; Archbishop Antonio Ledesma, Episcopal Commission Inter-religious Dialogue.

Bishop Precioso Cantillas, Episcopal Commission on Migrants and Itinerant People; Bishop Edwin dela Peña, Episcopal Commission on Mission; Bishop Leopldo Juacian, Episcopal commission on Mutual Relations Between Bishops and Religious; Bishop Honesto Ongtioco, Pension Plan Committee; Bishop Pedro Arigo, Episcopal Commission on Prison Pastoral Care; Bishop Deogracias Iñiquez, Permanent Committees on Public Affairs; Bishop Mylo Hubert Vergara on the Episcopal Commission on Seminaries.

Bishop Broderick Pabillo, Episcopal Commission on Social Action, Justice and Peace; Bishop Bernardino Cortez, Episcopal Commission on Social Communications and Mass Media; Bishop Emilio Marquez, Office on Women; and Bishop Joel Baylon, Episcopal Commission on Youth.

The heads of CBCP Commissions, Committees or Offices maybe re-elected for a maximum of five terms or a cumulative of ten years, with each term being two years. (Kate Laceda)

Blogs commenting Fr. Jessie's post
Technorati icon